To Be Read: October

Not to be so typical but I am so glad that we live in a world with Octobers, y’all! Here in the south October signals the true transition into fall. The leaves change into those glorious fiery shades of orange and red, the temperature level sets itself into the 60s-70s, and I can finally drink pumpkin coffee without being (overtly) judged.

There is something about the cooler weather that just makes me want to curl up with cups a cup of coffee and get lost in the magic of this beautiful season!  In an effort to persuade myself to read a variety of different books this October, (I have a pretty consistent bookshelf) I undertook the 2016 reading challenge  and have been trying to work my way through the list of different topics.

october

In no particular order, the books I’m going to attempt to tackle this month:

  1. A book based on a fairytale: I was (and still am) a sucker for a good fairytale. Whether it’s a classic, modern adaption, or loose interpretation I am always excited to see how authors make well-loved story lines their own!  Currently thinking: The Girls at the Kingfisher’s Club. 
  2. A romance set in the future: While I never think that I like alternate reality books, I always end up devouring them. The Thousandth Floor has been described as “The Gossip Girl of the future.” I don’t know about all of you, but I was hooked on the books and the show in the early 2000s. Count me in.
  3. A book written by a comedian: Comedians are arguably some of my favorite authors. All of their books are written as if they are sitting across from you, telling you all of their personal stories as if the two of you are besties. All I can say is Yes Please  to Amy Poehler’s book.
  4.  A book and it’s prequel: I have absolutely no shame in admitting that I’m only moderately in love with The Selection by Keira Cass. It’s with only slight hesitation that I admit to reading books one through three in about three days over Thanksgiving last year.  Love it or hate it, I’m going to be reading The Heir (Selection #4) and The Prince this October.
  5. A NYT Bestseller: I honestly don’t know much about the author, but I fell in love with the cover for Commonwealth by Ann Patchett and was sold. It’s currently topping the NY Times best seller list, and I’m excited to see if it lives up to the hype!
  6. YA Bestseller: There seems to be a commonality in YA fiction right now with the dystopian society theme. While that’s another category on my list, I was intrigued with  Veronica Aveyard’s Red Queen  as it seems to be a YA version of Game of Thrones. I wouldn’t say that I’m a GoT enthusiast, so TBD to how this will go.

 

What’s on your TBR list for October?  Let me know in the comments!

 

 

4 Replies to “To Be Read: October”

Leave a Reply

