Review: The Thousandth Floor

Holy cow y’all. Just when I thought life couldn’t get any crazier, it does. Grad school is both similar and vastly different from undergrad, and I’m still in the process of “getting my feet under me” so to speak.  I THINK I’ve finally got it under control, so that’s progress right? Shout out to coffee and my calendar for getting me to this point.

Additionally, how is it already half way through October?! It seems like it was just yesterday that it was October 1st and I was deciding what I would read this month. Now it’s middle of October and I’ve got books and posts in the pipeline to round out the month. Be on the look out everyone!

Now for the review you’ve been waiting for: The Thousandth Floor.

 

the-thousandth-floor 

I won’t lie –  I picked this book up at first because of the cover. It is a beautiful cover! A flat image doesn’t do it justice, the gold literally sparkles off the page. The second reason was because it was touted as the futuristic Gossip Girl.  I will shamelessly say that I am was low key obsessed with Gossip Girl. #ChuckandBlairForever.

Set in Manhattan in 2118, The Thousandth Floor tells the story of a Manhattan we could only picture in our dreams. Instead of busy streets, the entire city is confined to a 1000 foot tower. The higher up you live, the more wealth, and secrets, you have. Told from the perspective of five different teenagers, readers get an inside look into the secrets, love triangles, and scandal that comes with living in the future.

Overall, the book itself was a very quick read. I know I read faster than the average person, but I was able to knock out close to 250 pages on my flight to San Diego last week.  The chapters shift from character POV to character POV making the reader feel like they have the inside scoop on the feelings and lives of the characters, similar to Gossip Girl, minus the anonymous blogger. Some parts were slower than others, but for 90% of it, I was throughly intrigued.

Personally, I loved the world building and thought that McGee did a great job making 2118 a feasible concept for those of us still stuck in the 21st century. And, whether she meant to or not, each character was a representative social commentary on the challenges that teens, and adults at large, face today. McGee covers the entire gamete of social issues, from body image and relationships, to drugs, sexuality, and technology’s role in shaping our everyday lives.

On the flip side, and maybe it’s because I’m older, I found myself rolling my eyes at the main characters and mentally telling them to “Make good choices”. I am officially turning into my mother – she was constantly telling me that Gossip Girl had an unrealistic idea of how teenagers behaved. Granted their activities are more tame then the high school crew in Gossip Girl, but  they still seemed a little out there for kids that are supposed to be 17 and 18. It could also be the fact that I was a perpetual goody-two shoes in high school, but I digress.

Finally I’m not sure how I feel about the fact that it’s going to be a trilogy. I don’t know about all of you, but I’m getting a little tired of the everything becoming drawn out into a million pieces (I never thought I’d say this, but I’m looking at you Fantastic Beasts.) While I’m definitely going to read the remaining novels I do feel as though this could have been told in one book and could have been just as good.

Ranking: 3.5 stars.

Definitely put this book on your weekend “To Read” list – you won’t be disappointed.

Have you read The Thousandth Floor? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Fri-Yay y’all!

 

3 Replies to “Review: The Thousandth Floor”

Leave a Reply

